Save Money By Making Phone Calls

Ever wish you had a coupon for something you purchase regularly and yet the company never offers them to you locally?

When I am cooking dinner Mr. Frugalista is usually hanging out with the kids to keep them from being underfoot. That leaves me alone in the kitchen where it is nice and quite. I use that time to call the phone numbers that are provided on the packages of items that we like. I call and speak to customer service and tell them why and how much we like their product. I then ask them if they have coupons available to mail. Usually they do. I have gotten coupons for everything imaginable this way, everything from hair gel to flour.

You can also call if you are displeased with an item. Notice I did not start out with the negative because I feel we should meditate on the positive: Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.Phillipians 4:8.

When calling to complain on an item the company will usually ask you to look at the package and give them information off of it. This gives them the product knowledge they need to know exactly what the item is and where it was produced. I have called about everything from vitamins that made me sick to soda that’s lid was entirely too tight to get off (it was so tight Mr. Frugalista had to hold it and I had to use pliers on it). I will admit with complaints you usually do get better coupons. An example would be recently I called Kraft to tell them that the bags on their Natural Shredded Cheese product (which I paid .99 for) was so thin that when I was placing it in the freezer the bag ripped with normal handling. They sent me a coupon for a free Kraft Cheese item up to $6.

Try making a phone call to the companies who manufacture your favorite products and I’m sure you will be pleased at the savings that will follow.

Littlefrugalista

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Save Money By Making Phone Calls”

  1. trailerparkbarbie Says:

    This is a great idea and it DOES work. I’ve done it, too!
    You are putting some really good tips here, LF.

  2. littlefrugalista Says:

    Thanks TPB 🙂

Leave a Reply

